Identifying the Appropriate Penalties with DUI Attorneys in Mankato, MN

by | Feb 16, 2016 | Lawyers

Minnesota drivers face criminal penalties when they make the conscious choice to drive while intoxicated. This infraction could affect their lives in a multitude of ways. First, if convicted, the individual could lose their driver’s license for a lengthy duration. Next, they could acquire higher insurance premiums due to these risks. They could also face more devastating penalties if the other driver or their passengers become injured in an accident. DUI attorneys in Mankato, MN prepare these individuals for this impact and the fight to maintain these privileges.

What Are the Penalties for DUI?

The penalties for DUI in Minnesota depend on the blood alcohol content reading of the driver. A first offense in which the driver had a blood alcohol content of less than 0.16 percent results in no more than ninety days in county lockup. These individuals also face fines of $1,000.

If their blood alcohol content is beyond 0.16 percent, they could receive a maximum of one year in county lockup and fines of $3,000. The driver’s license suspension applied to either infraction is at the judge’s discretion.

Any driver who refuses to submit to a breathalyzer or blood testing could receive a maximum sentence of one year and fines of $3,000. However, the court must prove that the driver was intoxicated by other means.

Penalties for Individuals Under 21

All drivers under the age of twenty-one receive a maximum of ninety days in county lockup and the fines for the offense begin at $700. However, if their blood alcohol content reading exceeds 0.16 percent, these penalties are increased to one year in county lockup and a fine of $3,000.

How to Reinstate the Driver’s License

After the driver has completed all terms of their sentence, they may reinstate their license, and in order to accomplish this task they must submit a fee of $680. Their knowledge of DUI laws is tested via a written exam. They must pay fees associated with obtaining a new license and they are required to complete additional chemical testing for alcohol addiction.

Minnesota laws require all drivers to refrain from driving when under the influence. Drivers who choose to commit this infraction face penalties based on their blood alcohol content reading. Drivers facing these charges should look for more information and hire DUI attorneys in Mankato, MN by visiting today.

Tweet us on Twitter!

Latest Articles